Romans | LISTEN UP! Bible Study Series (Bennett and Floyd)

  • $6.95

Part 1 - Chapters 1-8 
Part 2 - Chapters 9-16

What's a LISTEN UP! Bible Study, and why is it unique?
God's word is alive. God will always have something new to say to us. That's why the purpose of the LISTEN UP! Bible Study series is not simply learning information about the Bible. It is hearing God speak. There is a difference. In these Bible studies, you will be encouraged to listen: listen to the Bible, listen to your own questions and responses, and listen to the honest sharing among participants in your study group. Trusting in the power of the Holy Spirit, we believe that in that mix of biblical text, personal engagement, and honest speaking and listening, God's word may be heard, speaking words of challenge and words of comfort.

Romans: Parts 1 and 2 LISTEN UP! Bible Study
Paul’s Letter to the Romans is the first of Paul’s letters in the New Testament canon, the longest of them (16 Chapters), and, in many respects, the most significant. The Letter to the Romans is written to a congregation Paul neither founded nor knew, but was hoping to visit soon. For this reason Romans both introduces Paul and also the major themes of his mature thinking about what God has done in Jesus Christ.

In making his case to the Romans Paul addresses some of the great themes of the Christian story: sin and grace, salvation, election, and the trustworthiness of the promises of God. Paul also writes at length about what the implications of the Gospel and the new life in Jesus Christ are for Christians and their congregations.

When we study the Letter to the Romans, we encounter together the still speaking God and discern the voice of God addressing our time and context. Don't be surprised if you deepen your faith in the process.

Leader's Guide included in each workbook.


Michael S. Bennett is the Pastor and Teacher of First Parish Church, Congregational
(United Church of Christ) in Dover, New Hampshire. He is a contributing writer to the Feasting on the Word series.

Richard L. Floyd is Pastor Emeritus of First Church of Christ, Congregational
(United Church of Christ) in Pittsfield, Massachusetts. He is the author of A Course in Basic Christianity and When I Survey the Wondrous Cross: Reflections on the Atonement.

Click here for all titles in the LISTEN UP! Bible Study series.