Mark | LISTEN UP! Bible Study Series (Arnold)

  • $6.95

What's a LISTEN UP! Bible Study, and why is it unique?

God's word is alive. God will always have something new to say to us. That's why the purpose of the LISTEN UP! Bible Study series is not simply learning information about the Bible. It is hearing God speak. There is a difference. In these Bible studies, you will be encouraged to listen: listen to the Bible, listen to your own questions and responses, and listen to the honest sharing among participants in your study group. Trusting in the power of the Holy Spirit, we believe that in that mix of biblical text, personal engagement, and honest speaking and listening, God's word may be heard, speaking words of challenge and words of comfort.

Mark: Parts 1 and 2 LISTEN UP! Bible Study
Mark's Gospel, the shortest of the four Gospels, gets right to the point and tells us what mattered most to the earliest of Christians.

Mark didn't have the time, or want to take the time, to deal with anything that didn't draw a straight line from Jesus' baptism to the empty tomb. His goal is to get this good news down on papyrus and out to people now, before it lost its urgency, before any more people died or drifted away from this new faith.

Mark's is a bare-bones Gospel with a raw faith. From the very beginning of his Gospel, Mark has one purpose--to show us that this Jesus Christ was the One. The One who truly was, as the Roman centurion proclaimed at the cross when Jesus breathed his last, the "Son of God."

Mark seeks to strengthen his readers, and us, in that faith. From the very first verse, his focus is the good news that this Jesus is who he said he was--the One worth listening to, the One worth following, the One worth giving your life for. This is the Jesus we meet in the pages of Mark. That's reason enough to read this urgent, raw Gospel.

Leader's Guide included in each workbook.

Talitha Arnold is Senior Pastor of the United Church of Christ of Santa Fe, New Mexico, and author of Worship for Vital Congregations, published by The Pilgrim Press.

Click here for all titles in the LISTEN UP! Bible Study series.